CEW UK - Building leaders cosmetic executive women

2014 Achiever Awards

CEW Achiever Awards

2014 Achiever Awards

On Thursday 20th November 2014, sporting a new slogan "We Move Beauty Forward" CEW showcased some of the best talent in the beauty industry at our 13th annual Achiever Awards held in the packed ballroom of the Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel, in front of an industry audience, families and friends. This year's Achiever Award recipients have influenced and contributed to an industry in which women lead.


The Lifetime Achiever Award is presented to an individual who has made an exceptional contribution to the industry throughout their lifetime. This year’s winner, Suzy Menkes, was appointed Fashion Editor of the London Evening Standard at age 24 and over three decades, her reviews and insights have appeared in the world’s leading press titles and currently reach over 38 million people on 19 Vogue international websites. A hugely respected and well-known figure in the industry, CEW was delighted to honour Suzy with this award.

“The difference between passing fashion and lasting beauty was written in the words of Avedon himself. ‘If you do what I have done, which is to record the beauty of your time, that doesn't go out of fashion,’ he said.

I would like to thank the CEW and Caroline Neville, for giving me - a fashion editor - a lifetime award for understanding that fashion is transient - but beauty is eternal.” Suzy Menkes, International Vogue Editor.


This year CEW were delighted to honour four exceptional women within the industry: Céline Gilg - General Manager UK and Ireland, Tom Ford Beauty, Debbie Ansell - UK Head of Beauty, World Duty Free Group, Charlotte Tilbury - Founder and Creative Director, Charlotte Tilbury Beauty and Lisa Smosarski - Editor, Stylist Magazine CEW SPECIAL INDUSTRY AWARD 2014 The CEW Special Industry Award is presented each year to a man or woman who has made an outstanding contribution to the industry and the advancement of women in their beauty careers. This year CEW awarded it to one of the most highly regarded figures in the retail industry, Michael Ward, Managing Director of Harrods.


The most highly anticipated announcement of the evening was the winner of this year’s CEW Members’ Achiever Award, a special award for an up and coming star within the beauty industry - chosen by the CEW members. This year the award was given to Mia Collins, Divisional Merchandise Manager for Beauty at Harrods.


In recognition of how important digital has become in the marketing mix of beauty companies, CEW introduced a brand new Achiever Award for 2014 – the CEW Digital Achiever Award. Sponsored by Google, the award highlights the impressive creativity and innovation that beauty brands are displaying in the rapidly evolving consumer landscape, and showcases the exceptional talent driving best practice across the beauty industry. The first CEW Digital Achiever Award was given to Claire Vero, founder of the award winning Aurelia Probiotic Skincare.

Gayle Tait, Director of Luxury, Health & Beauty at Google said: “It’s an exciting time for beauty as brands increasingly place the web at the heart of their strategy, and harness the power of the consumer digital revolution. I am delighted to award Claire Vero the first CEW Digital Achiever Award for her excellent achievements.”

It was an emotional evening for the Achiever Award recipients and their families, with CEW continuing its commitment to shape the future of the beauty industry and nurture the careers of women within it.

To view some images from this event, please click here.


The CEW 2014 Achiever Awards
In partnership with: